School Committee Overview

  • In accordance with the Diman Regional charter signed on July 30, 1963, the School Committee shall consist of one member from each town (Swansea, Somerset, Westport) and three from the City of Fall River. Members from each town, shall be elected at annual town elections, with city members being appointed by the Mayor.

    The Committee is bound by the State's Open Law Meeting Law. It must conduct all business in open session, except for matters relating to collective bargaining and personnel, which are conducted in executive session. In addition, the committee prepares for public sessions and accomplishes some of its work through subcommittees. The subcommittees usually consist of one or two committee members who work with members of the administration and staff on issues that the committee is responsible for or has an interest in.

    Meetings are held the second Thursday of every month at 5:30 p.m. The announcement of each meeting is posted 48 hours prior to the meeting.

    Diman's school committee

Code of Ethics

  • As a member of my local Board of Education, I will strive to improve public education, and to that end I will Attend all regularly scheduled board meetings insofar as possible, and become informed concerning the issues to be considered at those meetings; Recognize that I should endeavor to make policy decisions only after full discussion at publicly held board meetings; Render all decisions based on the available facts and my independent judgment, and refuse to surrender that judgment to individuals or special interest groups; Encourage the free expression of opinion by all board members, and seek systematic communications between the board and students, staff, and all elements of the community; Work with other board members to establish effective board policies and to delegate authority for the administration of the schools to the superintendent; Communicate to other board members and the superintendent expressions of public reaction to board policies and school programs; Inform myself about current educational issues by individual study and through participation in programs providing needed information, such as those sponsored by my state and national school board associations; Support the employment of those persons best qualified to serve as school staff, and insist on a regular and impartial evaluation of all staff; Avoid being placed in position of conflict of interest; Take no private action that will compromise the board or administration, and respect the confidentiality of information that is privileged under applicable law; and remember always that my first and greatest concern must be the educational welfare of the student attending the public school.

School Commitee Members

    • Jeffrey Begin - Swansea
    • Donald DiBiasio - Somerset
    • Paul Jennings - Westport, Chairperson
    • Renee Howayeck - Fall River
    • Joan Menard - Fall River
    • Rajiv Nehra - Fall River


  • Schedule of School Committee meetings for the upcoming school year, which are held the second Thursday of every month at 5:30 p.m. unless otherwise indicated. Meetings are held in the school's conference room, unless noted otherwise.

    2017-2018 school year meetings:

    • July 24
    • August 16 - 4:30 p.m. - HFSC meeting; 5:30 p.m. - Regular meeting 
    • September 14
    • October 12 - 4:30 p.m. - HFSC meeting; 5:30 p.m. - Regular meeting 
    • November 16 - 4:00 p.m. - HFSC meeting; 4:45 p.m. - Special Education meeting; 5:30 p.m. - Regular meeting
    • January 25
    • February 8 
    • March 8 - 4:30 p.m. - HFSC meeting; 5:00 p.m. Public Hearing on FY19 Budget and School Choice; 5:30 p.m. - Regular meeting
    • March 22
    • April 3 - 12:00 p.m. - Regular Meeting; 12:30 p.m. Policy Sub-Committee Meeting
    • May 10 - 5:15 p.m. - HFSC meeting; 5:45 p.m. Policy Sub-Committee Meeting; 6:00 p.m. - Regular Meeting
    • June 12 - 4:30 p.m. - HFSC meeting; 5:00 - SPED Sub-Committee; 5:30 p.m. - Regular Meeting
    • June 21